Richard Wright

1943 – 2008 Richard ‘Rick’ Wright was a founder member and the keyboard player of the rock group ‘Pink Floyd’. He owned the yacht ‘Evrika’ which he kept in the British Virgin Islands and he was an overseas member of SMYC from 2002 until his untimely death in September 2008.

Alfred Gwynne Vanderbilt

1887 – 1915 Alfred Gwynne Vanderbilt was an extremely wealthy sportsman and a member of the famous Vanderbilt family of philanthropists. In 1908 he presented to SMYC the ‘Venture International Challenge Cup’ an unusually large Edwardian silver trophy. The trophy is decorated with an enamelled SMYC burgee and engraved “Sussex Motor Yacht Club, The Venture, International Challenge Cup, presented by…

The Duke of Westminster

1879 – 1953 The 2nd Duke of Westminster was the first Commodore of the Club and he raced his motor yacht ‘Wolseley-Siddeley’ in the 1908 London Olympics, it is believed under the SMYC burgee. The Duke of Westminster was an early President of the Club when he established a motor power boat record of 37.9 knots per hour.

Lord Wakefield of Hythe

1859 – 1941 The Warwick Vase, ‘The International Championship of London, Challenge Trophy’ was donated to the Club in 1931 by Lord Wakefield of Hythe, the founder of the Castrol Oils corporation. Lord Wakefield had many interests involving internal combustion engines including aviation, motor sport and motor yachting.

Sir Harry Preston

1860 – 1936 Harry Preston of car racing fame was also a successful hotelier. In 1901 he acquired the Royal York Hotel (now Royal York Buildings) which was almost derelict. Following the hotel’s refurbishment, he wined and dined London newspaper editors to promote visitors, particularly motorists, to Brighton and to encourage them to stay at his hotel. Soon after moving…

HRH The Prince of Wales

HRH The Prince of Wales 1894 – 1972 The “Britannia Trophy” was presented to SMYC in 1931 by HRH David, the Prince of Wales, subsequently Edward VIII. Originally the Trophy was for 4hp motor boat races on the Thames but fell out of use at the commencement of World War II. The Trophy was next presented in 1987 for an…